Lexington Three Selected As Part Of eLearning Pilot Program

Weather make-up days in Lexington County School District Three will operate differently during the 2019-2020 academic year thanks to a pilot program that’s being hosted by the Education Oversight Committee (EOC).  

Lexington Three was one of ten school districts from around the state that was approved in July to use eLearning days for school make-up days this upcoming year.  This means that if the district has to use one or more of the bad weather days that are built into the school calendar, students and staff would not actually have to come to school on those make-up days.  Instead, they would complete pre-determined virtual assignments and tasks from the comfort of their homes.

The eLearning pilot program started last year with five school districts.  In June, a total of 23 districts, including Lexington Three, submitted applications to also participate in this year’s eLearning program. District officials from last year’s cohort reviewed and scored the applications, which did not contain the names of the applicants.

“We are so very excited to be part of this cutting-edge initiative in South Carolina and feel that it’s going to create a win-win situation for our students, staff, and parents. As a one-to-one technology district, this pilot program will further the ways that we put our devices, such as Chromebooks, to good use for the sake of learning. It’s an honor to have been selected for this pilot program and is just one more example of how Lexington Three is a model district for the Palmetto state,” said Angie Rye, Chief Academic Officer for Lexington Three.

More detailed information, instructions and plans for the eLearning days will be forthcoming from district officials following a planning meeting in early August.  The virtual make-up days would apply to all students and staff members ranging from administrators and teachers to classroom aides and maintenance employees.  

Anderson Five, Kershaw County, Pickens County, Spartanburg One, and Spartanburg Seven School Districts made up the inaugural eLearning cohort last year.  In addition to Lexington Three, the following other school districts will be joining the group this year in the pilot program: Anderson One, Anderson Two, Anderson Three, Berkeley County, Florence One, Georgetown County, Lexington Two, York Two and York Three.